1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Starting a Lawn Care Business

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by CoreyD, Jan 21, 2007.

1. CoreyD

CoreyD LawnSite Member

Hi my name is Corey......
    Since last may 2006 I've been off and on doing yard work
    I'm 20 years old. Im a high school graduate
    But...I'm not too sure how to advertise.
    I've been making fliers with Microsoft Word and then driving around neighborhoods putting fliers in newspaper boxes.
    I printed out 250 copies and got only 8 calls since october 2 of which have asked me to come back every week or 2.
    So what would be the best way to advertise?.... Whats the best way for starting a new lawn care business?.... I dont know how to do the monthly contracts thing I just get paid the day I finish the job and come back whenever they call me or ask me to come back

is there a book I can buy that could maybe give me more knowledge?
  2. dcondon

dcondon LawnSite Silver Member

Welcome to Lawnsite:waving: Do a search and your going to find a wealth of information that will help you. One of the best things that helped us was a ad in the yellow pages. Word of mouth is going to help you the most. Good luck my friend.:)

FIRESCOOBY LawnSite Senior Member

Sit at your computer for a few hours, search, and read. All of your questions have been answered many times before. There is a wealth of information on this site.

Getting 8 calls from 250 fliers is a great response IMO.

The best way of getting business is referrals/ word of mouth. If you do a good job, people are going to tell their friends/family.