Starting a lawn mowing business, hopefully.

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by lwallace, Oct 28, 2005.

1. lwallace

lwallace LawnSite Member

I need some advice.................................................

I’ve been laid off for the second time in my life, working for someone else! I hope to change that by starting my own lawn mowing business. I’m an Army veteran and hope to attain a small business loan to get me started, and I have a friend that’s been in the business for 15 + years and I know I can rely on him for help. I found this site today and I will listen to any advice that’s available, I will be doing this business by myself for a while until I build it up. I live in St Petersburg Florida, the equipment I’m looking at is a Gravey PM 34Z Zero-Turn Mower, backpack blower, edger, weed eater, a enclosed trailer for security reason (that way I don’t have to unload my equipment each night to secure it, I just leave it in the trailer secured at my house) I’m looking to leasing a truck plain Jane truck for this business. Question 1) what is a good enclosed trailer. 2) What is a good rider, zero-turn I need a small one to get between the gates of peoples homes. 3) And what brands do you recommended for a blower, edger, and weed eater.

2. uspw

uspw LawnSite Member

well, i cant say much for the enclosed trailers because i dont have one. however in terms of a mower, it depends on the size of your loan and what you expect to get in terms of accounts. we run a 52" stander and it is great. most of the time you will be able to fit a 48" mower into peoples back yards. obviously that is something you need to investigate before taking the account. Wright also makes a 36" Stander which is nice, however you are sacrificing time. we have had very good luck with the stander so far. as far as trimmers, blowers, etc., i say Redmax 7001 for a blower. for trimmers it depends on the person using it, you need to find something that wont kill your back.