Starting a Lawn service..kinda scared!

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by sedlmeier101, Feb 19, 2007.

1. sedlmeier101

sedlmeier101 LawnSite Member

I am 19 years old. I have thought about it for the past 2 years and finally decided to start up a lawn care business!
    I have about ~$12,000 to start it. I have NOTHING as of right now.
    Heres what I am going to spend it on, tell me if I'm wrong
    I am not new to mowing,ect. as I worked at a school district for 2 years doing grounds work, But i am Very new to starting my own business and prices of everything. Heres somethings I have prices to:

1/2ton Silverado '99+ 4x4 ~$7,000

12' Enclosed trailer~ $1,000 (I have one I am ready to purchase)

I have the opptunity to purchase my cousins zero turn rider 52" (not sure of the brand but I know it's a good one) with under 100hrs for $3,500

I'd like to have 2 string trimmers, Incase one breaks.

A hand held blower to clear off driveways.

Can someone enlighten me on what I should purchase and the prices?

I am going to be running this by my self.
    I will be offering: Lawn mowing, triming and clipping removal.
    as well as spring/fall cleanup and mulch spreading.
    I don't want to get into hedge work right away becasue I have not had much exp. with it.

The thing I am worried about is I know of 2 bigger lawn service companys around my area...and my friend has a lawn care business, So i am worried that there will be no more clients for me! My friend claims that he has so much work he has to turn most people away.

I am just affraid to invest all this money and then have a hard time getting off the ground.

I am having a friend of mine (professional photograper) do up a flyer for me in which I will list off my services..
    I am wondering if any of these phrases sound like a good sales pitch:

"are you tired of your weekely lawn upkeep? If so, let us do the dirty work so you can come home and relax"