Starting business and want to know which kind of mower to get?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by NEUSWEDE, Mar 31, 2003.

1. NEUSWEDE

NEUSWEDE LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Maine

I am Just starting out in my own business and want to know what mower I should buy, I don't think I would want a riding one but a walk behing is fine. How big of a deck do I want?? If I am gonna spend a lot of money I want something I am gonna have a long time and be good for the future and work with every project I do. Any suggestions with prices would help. Also any otehr equipment I should think about getting? I am just looking to be point in a general direction.
    Thanks
    Dylan
    :waving:

2. Swampbeast

Swampbeast LawnSite Senior Member

I started out with a SCAG 48 inch Walkbehind belt drive, cost was $3500. I still have that mower today. I would suggest the SCAG because it is one tough mower, and if this is the first big mower you are gonna drive around, chances are you are gonna hit a few objects (such as a brick wall....:blush: ) before you get good at it. In my experience, SCAG is unbeatably tough and reliable, and the manufacturer stands behind the warranties.
    I use Echo 2 cycle equipment, some say Stihl is better, and I cant dispute that, I really dont know, but I will always and only get Echo. Never had a problem with them. Straight shaft trimmer, stick edger, and a good back pack blower.
    You will also need a trim mower, 21 inches or so. Toro, Lawnboy, Snapper, as long as its commercial, its fine.
    Stay away from John Deere lawn products, I have had bad experiences with them. And for all you people who are gonna get mad about that comment, chill out, its just my opinion.
    Diesel pickup truck and a trailer for hauling everything on, a good attitude and solid work ethic, and your ready to go!
    Good luck my man

:cool:

3. John Gamba

John Gamba LawnSite Fanatic
    from ct

EXMARK TURF TRACER Finished business.
    John

745resized.jpg