Starting Commercial

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by ABY, Jan 13, 2003.

1. ABY

ABY LawnSite Member

I started my lawn maintenance and landscape company 10 months ago. I inherited five employees from a previous company that shut down. I also paid them to convert their existing accounts to my new company. I started with 35 high end residential homes. I now have 60 homes. I have never worked in this business before now. I was a corporate officer in a publicly traded company for the last ten years before I was laid off. The company I inherited the employees from did my landscaping two years ago. It looked like a good business after spending the money I did on our own home.

My challenge is learning the business. While I thought I knew how to mow a lawn, I did not know very much of anything. I am blessed with wonderful employees who have been trained for the last fifteen years on how to do it right.

However, it seems I cannot do more than breakeven. While I had start up cost with new equipment, trailers, and trucks, my expenses seem to go up right with my revenues. I'm starting to believe that I need a mix of commercial accounts to make a profit.

Any words of advice for me to step into the commercial side? I do annual contracts for my residential clients. The bidding process has been difficult for me because of the learning curve. I suspect the commercial bidding process will be more difficult.
  2. beasleyslawn

beasleyslawn LawnSite Member

there are plus signs to commercial accounts and they have there negitive signs. i have been in the business for 6 years and started by doing residential yards and then 3 years ago i went commerical and residential. plus signs are that they pay more money and are usually year around contracts but your residential will make you or break you. the negitive signs are sometimes they will pay you quicker than other times.
  3. curry

curry LawnSite Member