Starting new business this spring

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by trophytkr, Feb 5, 2002.

1. trophytkr

trophytkr LawnSite Member

Hi guys, I'm looking forward to your input. My wife and I are starting up a lawn care service this spring in Wisconsin. This will be a part time job. I am a mechanic in a foundry (23+ years) and my wife works in a bank. I am a third shifter so I have my afternoons to work at this. My hopes are to build the business up in a few years so I can finally get out of the foundry. I have been reading your posts for a few days and have gained valuable information! We live in an area that doesn't have enough people doing this to fill the needs of the area. I hope to work at the new business 4 to 5 hours a day. We have started purchasing the equipment for the business and what i'm looking forward to is your input on how I'm handling it. So far we bought a 4x4 silverado 1996 with 56 thousand miles on it. Also a 6x12 foot trailer. I have ordered a 21 HP white garden tractor for de-thatching, rolling, aerating, fall clean up with 10 bussel bagger and snow blowing. Also a 21 Hp white ZTR mower both have 46 inch decks. We have a estate rake dethatcher and a 48 inch plug aerator also comming. I also have a 6 HP 21 inch white push mower on the same order. We already have a lawn roller and gas weed eaters to start with. I know i need more also need a gas blower. The whites are probable not commercial quality but they are both new and I hope good enough to see if it is something we want to do. I think it is. I also priced both liability and workmans comp insurance. So I plan on pricing fairly and not low balling any other guys who are doing this for a living. Am I doing all right? I realize I will need stronger equipment as I go but am I on the right track? I appriciate any input you guys can give me.

2. PrimeGreen Lawn

PrimeGreen Lawn LawnSite Member