starting new division in '04

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by greenworldh20, Oct 24, 2003.

1. greenworldh20

greenworldh20 LawnSite Senior Member

hey! we will begin our chem division in the spring of '04. we have a few accounts that we have been servicing for the past 2 seasons and i feel confident to dive into the pest apps business. from what i see there is great $$$ to be made. i was just looking to pick the brains of others in this side of the biz to see what i should be doing or what i should be looking out for.

as for now, i own a very nice irrigation/snow removal company in southeast ny. we are located about 20 miles north of nyc. we are fully licensed and insured. i am a licensed general contractor, ny certified pesticide applicator (took the test while i was scraping for another company) and a nj licensed irrigation contractor. i am also a certified irrigation contractor through the ia. while i am at it, i have a college degree and plan on getting my cdl this winter. i have the permit, now i have to take the road test.

the reason why i am branching out into chems is b/c i want to grow the businsess. i have the license, i have the experience (5 years making another chem contractor rich). i have an existing client base ( 1000 irrigation accounts) to market this new business to. it fits well with what i am doing now, and there is a high profit margin with chem apps.

i am rambling a little bit b/c i want to go home and see my son, matt. he's 4 months old.

so, fire away at me...i am looking forward to the constructive criticism or fine advice you have for me.

thanks,

brian

2. GeorgiaGrassMan

GeorgiaGrassMan LawnSite Member

With 5 years of chemical experience and with your other business being so successful, it sounds like you could tell us a thing or two.

3. greenworldh20

not bragging...just being honest.

i came here for knowledge...you guys have been doing this ALOT longer than i have. i am looking for advice.

brian