1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

starting out in 2007

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by nickslawn, Nov 30, 2006.

1. nickslawn

nickslawn LawnSite Member

I'm starting out in 2007, I have been on lawnsite for about 2yrs. I have worked for the largest lawn service in my area. It will be tight money wise so buying a mower, I will have to buy a residental push mower for the first year. I the average size yard I will be going for will be 20,000-25,000 sq. ft. Can you all direct me a to good push mower, perferably self propelled, and give me and ideal on how much I can get done with a small mower on yards size list above or smaller. I will need to make $500 weekly to be able to make it on my own. I this possible. Thanks in advanced.
    I have been pushing yards for 4 yrs with a 20" murray 8 accounts.
  2. DBL

DBL LawnSite Silver Member

anything possible with money you will need to average atleast 20 customers with about a $30 avereage on price to cover fuel and other expences such as maintence to make the 500 also you seem like you have expirience so run with what youve learned and make the best of it on the push mower i dont know sorry

HOOLIE LawnSite Gold Member

You can certainly make $500 a week with some advertising. Should not be a huge problem to reach that mark.

As for a mower...well I started the same way really. The problem is a homeowner-grade 21" will not hold up all season. You would need a real commericial 21" model, and for what they sell for, honestly I would look around first for a used walk-behind. Especially if your average lawn is half an acre or so.
  4. nickslawn

nickslawn LawnSite Member