Starting out may need some tips.

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Optionryder420, Aug 25, 2004.

1. Optionryder420

Optionryder420 LawnSite Member

Well, I'm just starting out a small neighborhood business (I'm only 16) I have one friend whom wants to help out and I have a push mower, gas weedeater/edger, and some electric hedge trimmers along with a few manual tools. Now for starting out my business I'm just Mowing Lawns, edging, trimming hedges, and laying landscape rocks and sod. I've had some experience in all of these tasks and I know what I'm doing quite well. My main concern is pricing, since I'm just a teen and I'm not a big lawn crew what should I charge for a simple yard mowing and edging? Well not really how much but how do I charge IE Size of the yard, obstacles to go around, etc.
    Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks.

2. Seanl33

Seanl33 LawnSite Member
    from NH

(AGE 18) HERE IS A BIG BIG TIP NEVER UNDER ESTIMATE GET WHAT U THINK IT IS WORTH.. OH YA ALWAYS LOOK AT THE WHOLE LAWN FOR ALL YOU KNOW IT COULD BE EASY IN THE FRONT AND A PAIN IN THE *** IN THE BAK

3. Team Gopher

Team Gopher LawnSite Platinum Member
    from -

Hi Optionryder420,

You could figure out how much your expenses are and how much you would like to make in profit and go from there.

4. Optionryder420

Thanks for the tips.
    Seanl33, I do plan on going through the whole yard for a free estimate on how much I'll charge.
    Do you think I'll need more equipment though, or is this fine?
    The houses here usually reside on a 3/4 to 1.5 Acre lots, thats not the yard just the amount the lot is the house is on.

5. roadhawg3

roadhawg3 LawnSite Member

Try to figure around $50. per hour and you wont get hurt.

6. Optionryder420

Wow, I wasn't expecting nearly that much... but ok I shall.

7. luckyduck

luckyduck LawnSite Member