Starting out - Problem customer?

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Doogiegh, Apr 14, 2002.

1. Doogiegh

Doogiegh LawnSite Senior Member

Ok, i'm just starting out this year and got my first 2 jobs today. Both were spring clean-ups and mow, both very small residential customers. I visited both customers earlier in the week, talked very specifically about what they wanted done, and agreed about what they wanted done now, and then plans for the future. No contract was sign, but I wrote down what they wanted so I knew what the heck was going on. <G>

First one went great, customer was home, game me my money, liked the job I did and that was that. I'll probably be able to make her a weekly mowing account, works for me fine. In addition, I feel that I bid this job properly and earned a "fair wage" for the job that was to performed. I've carefully reviewed by expenses and what I need to make, and I felt very good leaving there.

Went on to the second customer who was not home (they told me they would not be so I knew that going in). I'm out in the backyard, yard looked like it hadn't been mowed in a long long time, so I wound up triple-cuttng it. Grass was so long I had to cut once at the highest deck height, then again, followed by the last cut that was bagged and I took the clippings away, I have a place to dump, no problem there.. This turned out to be much much more work than I had expected, but it had rained earlier so the grass was wet, led to clumping so the reason for the 3 cuts..