starting out

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by hlgmoney, Mar 30, 2002.

1. hlgmoney

hlgmoney LawnSite Member

I have been providing landscape maintenance for several years but an now thinking of getting involved in Irrigation . I have one employee who has some experience and I have done extensive rapairs but never a total install. Anyone have any suggestions? Also, what's a reasonable goal to set for the first year in terms of gross$. Thanks

2. I would say concentrate on doing repairs only at first....the installs will come from the repairs.

One technician booked full time should bring in over 100k per year. If you are just starting out I wouldn't expect but about 30-40% of that.

Good luck

3. HBFOXJr

HBFOXJr LawnSite Bronze Member

Study the market carefully between installs and service.

Here in NJ the install market sucks and has for years. I can put a really good tech on the street for $56/hr plus materials at list and Iget $28 for just showing up at the door.

I'm pricing installs at $45/hr and ZERO markup on materials and I get laughed out of many places. Thats right, materials are included at my cost.

Since the site is soooo famous for "help me with this pricing in your area" I think I'll prepare a little bidding exercise of my own but I won't be looking for dollars I'll be looking for hours to do the job along with any pricing. I'll also supply enough info so that everyone should be on the same page.

4. hlgmoney

hlgmoney LawnSite Member

Thanks for the info. I live in Myrtle Beach and here things are just crazy. They're building houses on every corner and they all have irrigation. Some of the more affordable subdivisions don't but I've talked to other contractors who say they're getting calls from these neighborhoods too. I'm a little nervous about jumping in feet first but I think I need to since there's such a demand.

5. DanaMac

DanaMac LawnSite Fanatic