Starting Out

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Ken's Lawn Service, Nov 16, 2002.

1. Ken's Lawn Service

Ken's Lawn Service LawnSite Member
    from Georgia

OK Guys, give it to me. I am just starting out and want to do it RIGHT! If you have any advice or otherwise just give it to me. I have all the want to in this world but you guys know this better than I do.

I have the equipment thanks to a very understanding wife and the belief that finally there will be a way.

If you can help, I will listen to anything you have to offer.

Thanks in advance for your help and GOD BLESS!!
  2. TJLC

TJLC LawnSite Bronze Member

I am certainly not trying to blow you off but I would suggest you try the search feature at the top right, there is a WEALTH of info on just about anything you could ask. The best of luck to you.
  3. Green Pastures

Green Pastures LawnSite Silver Member

1.- Get licensed to do business in your community.
    2.- Get business insurance.
    3.- Get any licenses you may need if you plan on fertilizing and or spraying for weeds and pests.
    4.- Get incorporated.
    5.- PAY YOUR TAXES NOW, do not wait. Find out the limits and when you have to pay and PAY THEM.
    6.- Pray daily.................hourly, you'll need it, but it helps.

Do the search thing, and just log on and read all the threads that you can learn from. Feel free to participate, but searching is good before posting a question that may have been asked a million times before.

Good luck and God bless you too.
  4. sheppard

sheppard LawnSite Senior Member

Started my business last year when I was 45 y/o. Did not a thing about this business. Worked for someone else for 3 months while considering buying his business (Didn't).

Dittos on the info sugested so far. Especially licences and taxes. Get a good inexpensive CPA too.

After doing this by myself since Aug. of 2000 I see, in my maket in Tallahassee, that the consistantly good $ is in commercial accounts- small to mid-size.