Starting up a mowing business part time. HELP!

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Coryhale2002, Jan 17, 2008.

1. Coryhale2002

Coryhale2002 LawnSite Member

I am currently an automotive technician and would like to take a shot at starting up a part time mowing business that eventually I can grow into full time. I have many years of mowing experience as a kid but thats it. I have a truck and am looking into buying some used inexpensive equipment. I would like to keep my debt at $0 so I will be paying cash and starting out small. This way if things don't work out I have nothing to lose. I recently purchased a "How to start your own lawn care business" program but I would like as much info as I can get. I would appreciate any and all tips,tricks, do's and don'ts that anyone can offer. Thanks

2. PlatinumLandCon

PlatinumLandCon LawnSite Bronze Member

Dude, do a search. This is the most general question possible and is asked almost daily.

3. Coryhale2002

Thanks for help buddy!

4. 2 clowns mowing

2 clowns mowing LawnSite Senior Member

buy a good (new) zero turn mower( john deere, ferris, or even a toro) around a 48" get a echo or john deere trimmer a good backpack blower (Red max 8000) and a 21" self-propelled mower buy a 14 or larger trailer because when you expand the trailer will be there for you i use a 16' and a 24' trailer for my 2 trucks. come up with a logo and a great name, buy some yard signs and try to keep up with the demand. don't advertise door to door or newspaper. i started 3 years ago and my sells are in the 6 figures now for only 7 months of mowing

5. Coryhale2002

I found a used Ferris 32" Walk behind for $400. and a used 2005 Echo backpack blower for $150. Are these good brands and prices?? Thanks for the help

6. Alluring Lawns

Alluring Lawns LawnSite Member