starting up part time need advise!!!!!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by tim cooper, Aug 21, 2001.

1. tim cooper

tim cooper LawnSite Member

Hello guys and gals!!! I live in Mississippi... I am a registered nurse at a level 1 trauma center.... I work a 5 on 2 off 2 on 5 off shift schedule... I have a lot of down time on my hands and am thinking of starting a lawn business on the side... I have a son that i intend to help with the business.... If i can get him to work!!! lol... Anyway guys... I have about an acre lot of my own to cut also... And am seriously considering buying a diesel grasshopper 52 inch deck...

My question is.. when, and who should i contact for business. I.E. apartments .. churches.. residential customers... and also about how many clients should i start with... any input would be appreciated..

2. Lawn-Scapes

Lawn-Scapes LawnSite Silver Member

at least one :)

Did you try the search? Lot's of posts just like this...

Try doing a search on insurance first...

After you've soaked it all in and still have Q's... then come back with some specific Q's...

3. vipermanz

vipermanz LawnSite Bronze Member

Welcome to Lawnsite, The Largest Commecial Lawn Care Forum Out There, About your questions, I would go for the apartments,churches,and other commercial properties, Give the past experiences that members here have encountered here with residential accounts,

Remember, Search Away!, And Safe Mowin' To Ya':)

4. 65hoss

65hoss LawnSite Fanatic

Welcome and enjoy. Your one of many who come here to start a part time biz. Start reading here as much as possible. Learn from our mistakes. Learn about pricing, business, equipment, advertising, etc. from this site.

Knowledge is power. Get the knowledge and then get after the biz.

5. fivestarlawnken

fivestarlawnken LawnSite Senior Member