State of the Industry

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by tiedeman, Jan 12, 2006.

1. tiedeman

tiedeman LawnSite Fanatic
    from earth

Does anybody find that the "State of the Industry" reports put out by every single magazine out there are basically pointless. It just seems that they really don't give any GOOD information. It's the same old same old.

Anybody else feel this as well?

2. Az Gardener

Az Gardener LawnSite Gold Member

I completely agree. If I am thinking of the same article they didn't even ask contractors they asked head of the local associations. Contractors are not going to go to a meet and greet and tell the association director I have lost my last 35 bids there is some low balling going on out there. If they want the truth they should ask the tax preparers. or the CFO's Most of the articles are useless unless you are an absolute novice. It has been my experience as a writer you have to play nice, I was asked to write an article on fertilizer injectors for residential applications. I layed it out, the good bad and ugly and was told that I really shouldn't say that a EZ flow were a piece of crap and Fertigators will need to have the barrels replaced in 12-18 months if you are using humates. When I read an article I want to learn something I don't know. I have found Planets cost study guide to be less than the gospel too. I got one from 99 or 00 and in the high profit residential market, Southwest region, they only had 4 contractors respond to the questionnaire. How can you put out a survey with so few respondents. I like Turfs method of putting a machine with a contractor to test but I would also like a consumer reports format with some history behind it. Ok you hit a pet peeve of mine.

3. GreenUtah

GreenUtah LawnSite Senior Member
    from SLC, UT