Stating Out Suggestions,Please Help?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by BASIC, Dec 4, 2002.

1. BASIC

BASIC LawnSite Member

Hi guys,my wife and I have been talking about stating a LCO for a few years,well if we don't do it now,we're never going to do it.How do we determine if our area can suuport another LCO?We live in northwestern New Jersey and our area that was rural only a few years ago is growing by leaps and bounds.I stoped at my local commercial LCO equipment dealer and asked his opinion(I do trust him)he said the LCO's can't keep up with the demand.He said to start small,a large WB,small WB for gates,back pack blower and a trimmer is enough to get started.I already have a pickup.He stressed customer service and to take our time buying new equipment.I don't have any experience with LCO except doing my own but I do have a very good customer service background.My wife is great with the computer and bookkeeping.Theres very little future for my current ocupation in New Jersey,I managed a small gun store and was just terminated.We'd like to start on a part time bases begining this spring.My wife works and I'll be getting something in the very near future,I hope.We've always wanted to work for ourselves and can think of no better way to do it than in the LCO.There does seem to be some really large LCO around,with big trucks,trialers,a lot of equipment and personel,how do we compete?Do we look for a market niche?Any help you may provide would be greatly appreciated.Thankyou all again,BASIC.
  2. Envy Lawn Service

Envy Lawn Service LawnSite Fanatic

-Use the winter to educate yourself as much as possible on the elements of the business and get it set up. Register the business, get proper insurances and look into the benefits of becoming an LLC...things like that.

-Shop equipment and learn. Decide what kind of properties it is you're going to be going after, purchase the best equipment for the job you can afford.