1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Stay in or get Out?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Jeff777, Jul 12, 2008.

1. Jeff777

Jeff777 LawnSite Member

It's been a long time since I posted or even visited.

I've been doing this part time since 1985. Moved to rural Wisconsin in 1999 and decided to go full time as we were in a completely new area and didn't want to commute to do what I had been doing full time. Sure ... likely foolish. I'd studied Organics for many years as well as hydroseeding and pulled the trigger hard. Skidsteer, hydroseeder, commercial mowers, sprayers, et al to tune of near 70K. Market turned out to be worse than pathetic in this area. Tourists and locals with no expendable income. Local Politics have virtually all business accounts tied up with 5th generation locals. I've ended up having to travel a 5 county area to make a semi decent customer base and I'm mowing lawns I wouldn't have even considered doing when I lived in the City. These people don't even know what a final grade is. I'm far too educated in Industry for my customers, all they want is mow and blow.

As Economy has worsened locals have run out in the droves to buy 'hardware store' mowers and start their own businesses to cater to tourist trade hoping to make a few hundred a month . Needless to say as I'm not telling any of you anything new, there is little loyalty in the business - for $10 less per mow you'll lose the account.

I'm in now only because it's what I do, I'm 58 with failing health and can't get by on my Wifes income alone. I do like lawn maintainence, simply don't like it here.