1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

stay the same or go big

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by jaketri4, Jul 8, 2004.

1. jaketri4

jaketri4 LawnSite Member

advice needed from all who know and understand my situation. I am a firefighter and i mow 55-65 accounts off duty by myself. my wife is a school teacher and helps during the summer. i do all by the books as far as filing taxes, no insurance though. i run good equipment toro, scag, honda etc...

i know i could hire employee, but is it worth it? how many more yards do i need as i will always be an operator/owner. insurance and liability are a big concern when adding help and so is quality control.

let me know what you think and anything that i forgot. thanks
  2. gunner27

gunner27 LawnSite Member
    from ohio

I can't believe you don't have insurance. If anything bad would ever happen, you could lose everything including your house. Before you start thinking about getting bigger, i would get insurance for yourself.
  3. Expert Lawns

Expert Lawns LawnSite Silver Member

you are going to catch a lot of grief here on lawnsite for not having insurance. as for "going big", I'm in the same boat as you are. I have around 40 weekly accounts and also wonder how many more it will take to justify hiring help and adding equipment etc. I want to do it right. By this I mean getting ALL the correct insurance, having a payroll (not paying under the table), and maybe having a lawyer and consultant (if these are necessary, I'm not sure)

Good post, I would like to hear some stories and suggestions also.
  4. Hawkeye5

Hawkeye5 LawnSite Senior Member