Steel Edging????

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by Doug Z., Jul 20, 2006.

1. Doug Z.

Doug Z. LawnSite Member

I'm bidding a job right now, and the home owner wants steel landscpe edging. She is totally sold on it. The company that I'm bidding against told them that they are the only company in the area that has the machine to put it in.
    I've never used steel edging before. My suppliers that I've talked to have never heard of a machine to install it, other than a regular bed edger.

Has anyone ever used the steel edging, and if so, have you used a machine???

2. RedWingsDet

RedWingsDet LawnSite Gold Member
    from Detroit

Never used or heard of a machine to install steel edging. Just manpower and handtools.

3. DoetschOutdoor

DoetschOutdoor LawnSite Bronze Member
    from S. IL

I just rented a bed edger and the guy told me they are what everyone uses for the metal edging. We installed plastic edging but the metal edging wouldnt be any different

4. prostriper

prostriper LawnSite Senior Member

I have never heard of a specialized steel edging putter in machine. Their most likely using that as a ploy to weigh the scales in their favor. Tell the lady their special tool is a shovel. They may use a sot cutter or a bed edger but you can get one at almost any rental place.

It is a little harder to work with than aluminum (doesn't bend as easy) and have a can of spray paint handy to cover up any scratches ( they do happen).

I usually use a hand sod cutter, I've never had something big enough to warrant a bed edger. I think the longest stretch I've ever put in was a 35-40' stretch. But most of the landscaping I have done was renovation, you may want to go the machine route if it is a new install.

5. Doug Z.

Doug Z. LawnSite Member