Stihl 4-mix FS110 tune up

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by sulston, Jan 2, 2007.

1. sulston

sulston LawnSite Member

I have a new Stihl FS110 4-mix that I've used for 1 1/2 seasons and it runs alright but I believe it could use a tune up and run a little better. My local dealer charges $75 for a tune up and it's not running that bad to justify paying that. Is it difficult to do a tune up on these trimmers as I would like to learn how to do it myself at 75 bucks a pop. I'm no mechanic but I'm no idiot either, I'm just trying to figure out if it's worth looking into and learning how to tune them up or is it difficult/requires special tools and I should just suck it up and pay the dealer. Your input is greatly appreciated.

2. ed2hess

ed2hess LawnSite Fanatic

Does these units have valves, if so you better be setting those soon.

3. lawnmaniac883

lawnmaniac883 LawnSite Silver Member

yes, 4-mixes have valves. If i were you i would simply adjust the valves then replace air / fuel filters and spark plug these engines really dont require a tune up...thats just a waste of money.

4. sulston

sulston LawnSite Member

Great, that's what I was hoping to hear. Any advice on adjusting these valves?

5. lawnmaniac883

lawnmaniac883 LawnSite Silver Member

You may want to buy the valve cover gasket for it and replace when you adjust, i never have but to each his own. The dealer should also sell a adjusting kit of some sort which will include feeler gauge, gasket and wrench but you can do it without.

To adjust look up the specs in your owners manual but i believe .006'' feeler gauge works you will have to take snips and cut the gauges edge so that there is a 1/8'' piece to use because the rockers have small keepers and therefore you cant get a full width feeler in there. Thats about it, just tighten/loosen the adjusting nut until your feeler is tight but slides in and out freely.

6. Potchkins

Potchkins LawnSite Senior Member