Stihl trimmer accessories

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by tacoma200, Oct 2, 2007.

1. tacoma200

tacoma200 LawnSite Fanatic

I'll definately be buying a trimmer next Spring. Stihl offers a lot of accessories. Are these practical in real life such as the Adjustable Hedge Trimmer Attachment, Mini-Cultivator Attachment, Edger Attachment etc.

Do you have to buy particular models to use these on?

What is the best all around Stihl to put a brush cutter blade on every now and then with out going all the way to a 250?

We have a Echo dealer in town also, but I have no experience with that brand and the service isn't that great. I have plenty of small trimmers such as a fs 80 but will be looking more in the line of a FS 130 R Trimmer. Maybe even a 250 but that may be overkill.

2. wahlturfcare

wahlturfcare LawnSite Senior Member
    from iowa

my opinion is to stay away from stihl as they will give you lots of problems. i've had a fs 80, 85, 110, and many others, plus saws and they all gave me problems out of the box or quite working a year after(after warranty). if you call stihl direct even the techs dont know anyting about their products.

i always used my 80 with the brush blade and it worked great for it even in thick weeds and was fairly light weight.

I not run all echo and shindaiwa products and havent had any problems. plus with echo you get lifetime warranty on electrical parts and a couple years on the shaft, etc..

3. Two Seasons

Two Seasons LawnSite Senior Member

All of our handhelds are Stihl. 4Mix and 2-stroke using Stihl oil. Zero problems.

Regarding your question about Stihl Kombi-systems, we bought one. It comes with the pick tines for cultivating---works good but slow. We also bought the PowerSweep rubber paddles for cleanups---good for lawns and snow removal down to pavement (some homeowners don't like melter), but again slow.

The Stihl Kombi-system is heavier than individual dedicated Stihl tools, so be aware of that.

4. farmboy1285