Strictly lawn maintenance

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by tiedeman, Nov 15, 2005.

1. tiedeman

tiedeman LawnSite Fanatic
    from earth

Anybody that offers strictly lawn maintenance and no landscaping installation, how do you get by? Do you like it better that way? Less hassle, stress?

Do you ever want to go into installation or if you were in installation how come you got out of it?

2. competitiveimageland

competitiveimageland LawnSite Member

well like any business when you add more services you have to anticipate more headaches , i say go for the gold and take on most tasks offered to my company and what jobs i dont know how to do or dont have the equipment for i still take on because equipment is cheap and pays for itself. its also a good learning experience. Or ya could just subcontract

3. fool32696

fool32696 LawnSite Senior Member

I do strictly lawn maintenance. I'm a full time student at UF so its nice to keep things simple and easy to schedule. I also work solo and don't have the time for involved projects. The money in lawn maintenance isn't too bad.

4. Jpocket

Jpocket LawnSite Silver Member

For me strictly lawn maint. is the way to go. It's very predictable and routine that's what I like. To get by you just have to have volume. When the grass is growing you have to get it while you can, and keep your overhead low.

5. dog245

dog245 LawnSite Member
    from Midwest

I am one who strictly does lawn maintenance. Being part-time, if you could call it that, I want to do one service and do it right. I do sub out installations but you have to be real careful who you use because they still represent you. Also, some out there will stab you in the back and try to get it all. Which is a chance you take when you don't offer the whole package. All in all I've been pretty lucky with who I've recommended because they give me as many jobs as I give them.

6. logan

logan LawnSite Senior Member
    from FL