1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Striping A Graveyard?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by NittanyLawncare, May 9, 2007.

1. NittanyLawncare

NittanyLawncare LawnSite Member

I have a graveyard I'm doing for a client and I don't know if it would be appropriate to stripe it or not...I've never done one before. The WB I'm using will leave stripes regardless, but I can use the striping kit and stripe them dark. Memorial day will be an important day for them, so I'm going to make it look perfect, but I don't know if dark stripes would be the right thing to do. Depending on whether it is or not, would you stripe straight stripes or diagonal stripes. Thanks for the input.
  2. we just make sure its mowed and trimmed.
  3. KS_Grasscutter

KS_Grasscutter LawnSite Gold Member

How are you gonna do diagonal stripes at a cemetery? The other day dad and me were talking (during...) a funeral graveside service deal about how much of a PITA it would be to mow and trim around everything. Yea, if the headstones are flat you could prob. go over them, but I figure that would scalp the heck out of everything because of the un-eveness of it. Maybe you could stripe one column one way, the next one the other, so that way the columns switch light dark light dark etc. I think that would be about the easiest and best thing to do IMO.
  4. NittanyLawncare

The graveyard is pretty empty with only about 50 headstones and room for 300, so there would be plenty of room to stripe. I wasn't planning on doing it everytime, but maybe just for memorial day. It sounds like light straight stripes are the way to go, which would just be to cut it normally.
  5. Buckeye Lawncare

Buckeye Lawncare LawnSite Member