Stuck Excavator Lawsuit

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment & Pavement' started by Dirtman2007, Apr 21, 2011.

1. Dirtman2007

Dirtman2007 LawnSite Platinum Member

so here's a stange one for you. I received an email the other day after several of my extreme mud digging videos were watched by this person.

So here's what the email consisted of. I've **** out some of the names to keep them private, but I'd like your oppinions too. Personally I don't think they have a good case?

Hi Christopher, my name is Carl B***** and I am an attorney in Saluda, VA. I have a case involving a stuck excavator and I came across some of your videos on Utube. My paralegal, Heather, was able to contact you and I appreciate your willingness to help us. My client is John Luttrell (Luttrell), and the adverse party is Ransone’s Nursery and Maintenance (Ransone). Luttrell formerly worked for Ransone, and in the course of his employment operated one or more of the Case CX 160 excavators owned by Ransone.

Ransone is engaged in land clearing and marine contracting which as you know is hard on equipment. At some point, Luttrell left Ransone and started his own business. Luttrell wanted to dredge out a sandy creek bed to allow small boats to use a creek adjoining his land. Ransone was familiar with the proposed project and hoped to benefit from it by installing a dock and pier for an upstream land owner. Luttrell rented a 2002 Case CX 160 excavator from Ransone on February 24, 2008, to do the dredging work in the creek. The machine was delivered by Ransone to the job site, and Luttrell started work that afternoon.