Stuck to my guns

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Volhunter, Jun 14, 2001.

1. Volhunter

Volhunter LawnSite Member
    from TN

I'm new to the business and doing it part-time. Starting up way too late, its been tough getting work. I passed out 500 flyers this week and have 500 more to put out by the first of next week. Got a call for an estimate this morning & went to take a look. Pull up to a $350,000 house with the bermuda gone to seed, hasn't been edged in probably a month and I doubt its been trimmed all year. The lady comes to the door and cries about being pregnant, having to work on one of their 3 rental houses, no time, etc. I listen politely then start measuring the yard. It comes up to about 10,000 sq ft and roughly 800 ft of edging/trimming. I figure 1.25 hrs for the job plus a mark up for a "one-time" cut and the extra time it will take for being in such bad shape. I quoted her $65, which I thought was reasonable. I thought she was going to fall out! Gave me the "poor pitful me" look waiting for me to give away my services. It didn't work. She said she couldn't afford that (for a one time cut! LOL). I told her if I did it weekly, it would run about $50 per cut. She said she would just wait until her husband could get to it. I thanked her and left. I wanted to relay this to the younger guys starting out (I ain't no spring chicken). Stick to your should know what a job is worth (if you've done your homework), bid it and stick by your number. It hurts when you need lawns like I do, BUT I've been in the business world a long time and I promise odds are that a good job at a FAIR price will take you far. There is ALWAYS somebody that will do it for less...don't be that somebody, because if you are, you won't be around for long. Sorry I got long-winded, but I thought this might help some of you.
  2. cos

cos LawnSite Addict