1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

stump grinding

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by JTS Landscaping lawn, Dec 16, 2006.

1. JTS Landscaping lawn

JTS Landscaping lawn LawnSite Senior Member

thinking of adding stump grinding to my business is there good money in it and what are some of the rates for doing this.
  2. o-so-n-so

o-so-n-so LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Alabama

Your not going to get rich at it........you can make some good money if you work it. You need to get a fairly large machine to get in it right. Being productive is a major factor. Rates vary by location and competition level.

I've been grinding for 7 years with no regrets. I operate a 50hp tow behind.

good luck
  3. Charlie Sierra

Charlie Sierra LawnSite Member

Hi Guys,

I stump grind from time to time but do not own a machine.

I get calls for stump grinding and tell people that due to the cost of the machine, I rent the tooling and then batch process the jobs. This way, my overhead stays low and they get a good price.

Most people go for it and when I have a full day's grinding lined up, I get the machine, tool up for the specific clean up and crank those jobs out.

Alot of people will wait a week or so quite happily.

I once asked some police officers and paramedics what landscape clean up procedures make a difference in their work and listed the basics I offer landlords. They said I had some good ideas but then said "what about stump grinding"?

Apparently, a lot of people get injured and a lot of property damage results from stumps. Just thought I would pass that along for your marketing efforts.