Sub Contracting Commercial Accounts??

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Bluelude1, Sep 12, 2005.

1. Bluelude1

Bluelude1 LawnSite Member

I have been mowing for several years now and I was thinking about establishing more commercial accounts and sub contracting the work. I could basically use the guys in my area I know do the quality of work I am looking for but, lack the sales ability. Then pull a percentage off of the job without having to maintain a crew or equipment. Similar to something like a facilities management company. Any thoughts on this?

Thanks in advance,
  2. Brianslawn

Brianslawn LawnSite Silver Member

they might try to steal it from you for less. some will, some wont. ive posted ideas like this before but got nada from the ls community. my thoughts... bunch of small lco consolidate to one big company. more equip to use, less overhead vs individual combined total. one biz lic., insurance policy, yellow page ad, etc. everyone take seperate section of town. spend day within couple blocks. use half as much gas and do twice as many yards. thats how all the big companies around here make so much $$$, crews dont spend day driving around town. time your yards and your loading and drive time. how many more yards a day could you do if truck stayed parked in one neighborhood all day. how much $$$ would you save on gas driving between yards? do the math.

everyone wants their own biz which is awsome, but so many go broke and quit because they can only charge $20 cause theres 500 other guys in town doing it. less competition = higher prices for the yards and even more $$$ for everyone. this is not an attempt to monopolize and it is not one of bobbys unions... it is a consolidated effort amongst fellow lcos.

any other comments???
  3. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

Yeah, I mean...

If you get a %, where does the % come from?
    Either they have to eat it, or the customer does, right?