Sub Contracting

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by R&E PROPERTY MAINT., Nov 17, 2002.

1. R&E PROPERTY MAINT.

R&E PROPERTY MAINT. LawnSite Member

I'm new to this industry and was wondering if you could hire your crew as sub contractors? if so, is there a form you need to file with the state?
    Is anyone out there do this?
    thanks in advance for your response..
    p.s. I have searched this topic and found nothing

2. No you cannot do that.

You have to meet all of 20 requirements with the IRS to quallify sub's.

In your post you are disqualified 3 times with 3 words "hire" "your" and "crew".

Jim Lewis posted on this many times, seach his posts and the answers are there for your questions.

3. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

LGF said it. Your crew is using your equipment, your trucks, your trailers. They are not subcontractors and you are definitely waving a read flag for an IRS audit when you file your income tax report.

They are your employees and it is against the law to send them 1099's Misscellaneous Income forms the following January

4. kutnkru

kutnkru LawnSite Silver Member

Basically if they do not have their own equipment, vehicles, trailers, insurances/bonds to do the job successfully - they are not considered a sub-contractor, but rather an employee.

If they do in fact have their own insurances and equipment, you can then pursue a restrictive covenant between your parties and take it from there.

5. JimLewis

JimLewis LawnSite Fanatic

Yes, these guys are right. The IRS has compiled a neat little list of 20 factors that must be true in order for a worker to be a true sub-contractor. You must meet at least 18 of these factors;

http://www.hasys.com/systems/20_factors.pdf

By having someone work for you doing lawn care you'd very likely be breaking the following factors;

1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 and 20.