Subcontracted design documents...who owns the rights to them?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Betty, Nov 11, 2006.

1. Betty

Betty LawnSite Member

I am a landscape designer and this past season I worked as a subcontractor for a local landscape supply business. I was paid a commission for sales, hourly wage for directing the landscape supply companies' crews, 1/2 my cell phone bill, and mileage for use of my vehicle. Shortly after the season began I found that the commission I made fell very short compared to the actual hours I invested on the sale. After discussing this with the owner of the business, he and I verbally agreed that I could add my hourly charges including added research, design revisions, and extra consultations to the bid. These "design" hour monies would be paid to me once the customer paid the balance of the installation. My question is about legal ownership of the designs. The customer always received a copy and, of course, the crew always had a copy to work from. Now that I have left the company, the owner believes he is entitled to and has paid for copies of all designs.

If anyone has advice, direction to a legal source, or general comments of questions, please email me.

2. PMLAWN

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member

I am not a lawyer, and do not play one on TV:)
    but my advice would be to talk to one

Now for my guess, I do believe he "bought" the design and has rights to use them again at another sight if he wishes. I am pretty sure that would be true if you were an employee and I still think as a sub it is also.

3. YardPro

YardPro LawnSite Gold Member