Super Duty Quick 36 or Exmark 36" Belt Drive?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by riley1374, Feb 23, 2005.

1. riley1374

riley1374 LawnSite Member

I was considering both mowers for small residentials. These will be roughly 100 X 100 yards and this will be my main mower. Can you guys let me know what you think of both these mowers? Thanks

2. Mark McC

Mark McC LawnSite Bronze Member

I don't have any experience with the Quick 36, but I have an eXmark Metro 36.

The cut on the Metro is great for a mower this size. The Kawasaki 12.5 has more than enough oomph, but I should point out that I did not use a sulky or velke. The deck tends to bog down a little in wet, heavy growth, but I doubt any mower in this category can avoid that problem.

Deck height adjustment is kind of a pain. It takes about seven to eight minutes once you get the hang of it, but I found it annoying.

The fixed deck wasn't much of a problem when it came to scalping, but I have no floating deck experience to compare.

Belt drive machines will really work your hands and forearms. If you're 6-2 and weigh 220 or more, your hands and forearms are probably beefy enough that it won't bother you, but much smaller and you may end up with a mild case of tendinitis by the end of the year if you're running the machine 20-plus hours a week. The belt drive on this machine actually performed fairly well in the wet stuff, though.

The Kawasaki 12.5 starts easily. Never had a problem with it. Nice bit of torque. PTO is the standard manual thing. Nothing exciting there.

Fuel tank is easily enough for a day's work. Greasepoints are not bad to get to. Changing the deck belt on this thing is a pain, though, because one of the belt retains is too close to the pulley. The mower is small enough that I can pop the deck up to go over obstacles.

Cant' think of anything else. Good luck whatever you choose.

3. riley1374

Thanks Mark, I appreciate the response. Anyone else have any input on these machines?

4. gogetter