Take the Lawn Care Plunge??

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Daleman, Jun 5, 2001.

1. Daleman

Daleman LawnSite Member

I am considering starting a residential lawn care service in the spring of 2002. I have located an area about an hour and a half from where I currently live, that currently has a high unfilled demand for lawn care services. The only thing holding me back is the fact that I would have to move, and also my wife and I are expecting our first child (due in October). I am currently a salesman for Frito-Lay, and my wife is a bookeeper for a small accounting firm. I have taken college courses in small business management, marketing, sales etc.
    If you were in my situation would you start the biz?

What is the average possible earnings for a first year solo biz?

Is 5-9k reasonable for a solo start-up?

Any other information or tips anyone could provide would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time, this seems like an excellent website!!

2. Eric ELM

Eric ELM Husband, Father, Friend, Angel

If you get 40 $30 lawns, this will be $1200 a week times 4.5 weeks a month will be $5400 a month. As you can see, it's all in numbers. Now, you just have to get that many and have the equipment to handle it by yourself. A 36" W/B will get do twice as many lawns as a 21" in the same time. A 50" ZTR will double the 36" as far as mowing time. You just have to figure out what you need for equipment, but you need the lawns first. ;)

3. casey

casey Guest

A 36 wb WILL NOT DO TWICE AS MANY LAWNS AS A 21". It depends on the lawn. I leave the 36 in the trailer more than half the time when doing small res..21" IS FASTER. Deal with it.

I'll take my 21 LB COMM against any size Chopper on a small res any day.

Eat my dust.

4. Lawn-Scapes

Lawn-Scapes LawnSite Silver Member

Why wait?

See if you can get some lawns now... part time. See what kind of response you get.... See if you like it.

Tom

5. Eric ELM

Eric ELM Husband, Father, Friend, Angel

Casey