1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Takeing on a partner

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Bryants Lawn Care, Mar 19, 2004.

1. Bryants Lawn Care

Bryants Lawn Care LawnSite Member

Hello guys this is my first time im new to the site.I had a custamer ask if I would be interested in takeing on a partner.Although im doing well by myself.I think I could double my production with better equipment truck etc. So my question is this. Would this be a good idea and how would you estimate your buisness worth. Im a semi new buisness owner I have about 45 yards and im doing fine but I want to take the next step. I would app. some feed back. Thanks B.L.C:blob2: :blob2:
  2. BSDeality

BSDeality LawnSite Silver Member

most guys on this site do not recommend partnerships. Hire him as a sub contractor or an employee.
  3. mtdman

mtdman LawnSite Gold Member

NO PARTNERS!!! Especially if you don't know the guy. Most guys here will tell you it's hard enough to have a partnership with someone you know, let alone someone you don't know. If you want to increase production, add an employee. If you want better equipment, buy it. But stay away from adding a partner.
  4. aries

aries LawnSite Senior Member
    from nj

Don't do it I was in partnership w/my brother for 7 years in the early 90's and it sucked I got stuck doing all the work ! finally I backed out of it had to give it up walked away from my share of the accounts to not create a family feud anyway 2 years later he had lost all the accounts all my hard work gone in 2 years! lazy 70 ACCOUNTS gone hope that helps u decide.

5. twins_lawn_care

twins_lawn_care LawnSite Senior Member