1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Taking advantage of an injured LCO?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by CJ GreenScapes, May 15, 2004.

1. CJ GreenScapes

CJ GreenScapes LawnSite Member
    from AL

A local LCO here was recently injured in a terrible car accident - broken arm, leg, and he is still in ICU. I do not know him personally, but he is a well-respected fireman in town. Well, 3 of his customers called me this weekend about taking care of their yards while he is hurt - I signed one of them up on an annual when she heard my prices. I am not asking what they are paying him, I just give an estimate like I normally would... The problem is that I am new to this business and I know it looks like I am taking advantage of his misfortune. To make matters worse, an article in the paper this morning said they are charging him with vehicluar homicide because the drivers of the other 2 cars both died. I have none of the specifics on the accident, but I do feel bad for him... Does anyone have any suggestions on how I should handle this? I am supposed to meet 2 more is his customers on Monday.
  2. dvmcmrhp52

dvmcmrhp52 LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Pa.

Take it slow my friend...................
    Your treading heavily here.
    You should be helping if possible to keep things going until things are proven further or he gets back to health.............
    Put yourself in his position.
    Fine to make money with the understanding that it is temporary for now,BUT,Taking customers while a man is down?
    I dunno,think about it..................
  3. Itsgottobegreen

Itsgottobegreen LawnSite Silver Member