Taking the Core Exam for Pesticides

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by GravelyGuy, Nov 18, 2006.

1. GravelyGuy

GravelyGuy LawnSite Silver Member
    from Indiana

I need to schedule to go take the core exam and category 3B exam to get licensed to spread herb/pesticides. How difficult are these exams? They offer a training session that cost $90 for each or you can just purchase the manuals for $35 and take the tests when you are ready. I also have to attend a 2 day training class since I have no prior experience. The training course cost $350:cry: I guess the manuals are like 80-100 pages each. I am more nervous about taking these exam than I am my SAT that I have to take in a few days:laugh: Anyways, thanks for any help:)

2. spend the $90 dollars and take the class, they teach you pretty much what is on the test and makes it a lot easier. They have great instructors and they do a good job preparing you.

3. GravelyGuy

from Indiana

I was hoping that if you paid $90 they might kind of clue you in on what you need to know. The only thing that I don't like is that you have to take the exam immediatley after the class. This got expensive real quick. It's an extra $100 for the liquid fert license putting the grand total well over
    $600. :rolleyes: No wonder people do this w/out proper licensing.

4. if you take the class then the test your almost guaranteed to pass it, but you still need to read the book prior to the class.

5. BSDeality

BSDeality LawnSite Silver Member

*sarcasm on*
    hmm $600 investment does seem expensive for an "easy in" to be able to gross $600 by noon on any day... *sarcasm off*

Spend the money, get certified, that is where the money is at.

6. DaughtryLC

DaughtryLC LawnSite Senior Member