1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Talk about job security!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by LAWNS AND MOWER, Feb 8, 2002.

LAWNS AND MOWER LawnSite Bronze Member

Read in the paper the other day that the elderly (over 65) population will increase by 80% by the year 2025. Baby boomers are finally growing up. This has to be great news for us lco's. The average age of my customers is probably close to 70 years old. One drawback is that by 2030 I'll be part of the elderly pop. Fellow lco's-- be prepared to expand because these baby boomers will have plenty of $$$$$ to spend and won't want to mess with their outside chores!!!!

2. thelawnguy

thelawnguy LawnSite Silver Member

I've been telling you guys this for the last three years, but it seems most of you are content chasing the yuppies in their McMansions so you can show off your stripes and such just to be under-bid every spring. Not to mention having to chase after your money in competition with a Lexus payment.

The elderly hate change. Once a customer they are yours for life (literally). They also are meticulous about paying right away, if not on the spot with cash-ola. Maybe this is why my advertising budget for last year was $100 and this year will be zero.
  3. Fantasy Lawns

Fantasy Lawns LawnSite Bronze Member

ya .... I'd have to agree with this one ... almost 90% of our Cocoa Beach jobs are snow birds & retired folks .... good payers n extras .... never change long as you show up on time n do a good job
  4. awm

awm LawnSite Gold Member

i do agree with this post.its here already an getting bigger .
    good deal for those who service homeowners.
    long as there is not to much moving into condos an apartments.
    some are selling the homeplace an doing that.
  5. Albemarle Lawn