Target Marketing Seniors

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Chris W, Dec 19, 2003.

1. Chris W

Chris W LawnSite Member
    from Ontario

Just wondering if anyone has tried to target the senior market and what the pros and cons would be with dealing with seniors.
    I am just getting started and have been curious whether this would be a viable venture ...since they do have most of the disposable income and they "seem" to feel more obligated to pay there bills ????

Thoughts :drinkup:
  2. locutus

locutus LawnSite Bronze Member
    from NC

Seniors make up about 30% of my clients. The pro's as far as I am concerned are that they pay on time. If they are pleased in the least with your work, they are reluctant to get rid of you. They usually are fastidious about their property, which can lead to more add-on services. They are very loyal (redundant).

The only cons that I can think of is that they require more of a personal relationship with you, which I dont mind. They like to tell you the same story multiple times, which can be irritating, but I indulge them anyway. They may ask you to do unusual things like flip the mattress on their bed or help get the Christmas tree down from the attic. Sometimes I perform these services for nothing, especially the Christmas tree thing or charge by the hour for the other stuff. To be completely honest with you, seniors are my best clients.
  3. Creative Lawn Care

Creative Lawn Care LawnSite Senior Member
    from NC

I agree with everything Locutus said. Also keep in mind that seniors are usually retired which means they are home most times when you go to cut. Somtimes this leads to nagging or long talks that eat up your work time.
  4. locutus

locutus LawnSite Bronze Member
    from NC

Creative, I can honestly say that I dont get much of the nagging but, I do get my share of the long talk kind of thing. If I'm in a hurry, I kind of ease my way towards my truck as I'm talking to them and make my escape in that manner.