1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Tax help?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Lamonicaslawnservice, Jan 23, 2008.

1. Anyone know anything about taxes? Should I claim my equipment if I bought my toro zero turn and trimmers and edgers and pretty much all my equipment in march if im going down in two days to get my license? I'm new to this so im not sure how it works? Thanks guys
  2. TSG

TSG LawnSite Senior Member

Talk to an accountant
    You need to know how to depreciate it.
    I would accelerate the depreciation and take it against
    any other ordinary income.
    You may find you get 30% of the purchase prise back.
    Also, since most lco's are not in business in 3 yrs. So
    it is better than taking depreciation annually.
    Every case is different,,,,talk to a pro

just .02

DLAWNS LawnSite Fanatic

I would ask people that you know for the name of a good accountant. Like TSG said that is very important because everyones taxes are different.
  4. bohiaa

bohiaa LawnSite Fanatic

Dont take advice like that from here..........

I can just hear you saying, to the tax man...

"Well this guy on the internet said that was a deduction"
  5. echeandia

echeandia LawnSite Bronze Member

Accountants know a lot about taxes and how they apply to each individuals situation. It is money well spent.
  6. lawnpro724

lawnpro724 LawnSite Silver Member