tax questions and write offs

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Mikol87, Dec 1, 2009.

1. Mikol87

Mikol87 LawnSite Member
    from Iowa

This is my first year operating a lawn care business. I will be enjoying my first income tax deduction as well. I will probably gross only about $15,000 this year. (good thing I have another full-ime job) So my question is-Any helpful advice, tips, do's/don't to watch out for? I am trying to compile all my deductions so if I missed any, which im sure i did, please fill me in. THANKS!

gas
    oil
    reapairs
    equipment purchases
    mileage
    advertising
    cell phone
    internet
    laptop
    parts
    weed eater string

2. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

Although this should probably go under Business Management, but you'll want to speak to an accountant / cpa about it,
    and I'm not trying to down talk any tax experts here, but if you go wrong they will hound you to the edge
    and beyond, so I highly recommend start working towards retaining a cpa's services.

3. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

You need to be careful with the cell phone, internet and laptop deductions. Those are grey areas and the amount you can deduct is dependant on how much those items are actually used for business. Surfing Lawnsite is not considered a business use. Like topsite said, consult a legitimate CPA that is looking out for your best interests. You want to minimize your tax liability while also minimizing the chances that you'll be audited.

4. unkownfl

unkownfl LawnSite Gold Member

It depends on the type of business you have.

5. ALC-GregH

ALC-GregH LawnSite Fanatic
    from PA

There's a happy balance in there somewhere. :)

6. chuckcintron

chuckcintron LawnSite Member