Taxes What to do

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by RD592, Sep 28, 2006.

1. RD592

RD592 LawnSite Member

This is my first year in the lawn buisness. I do have an LLC company with no insurace. Note I am only part time. I have 8 accounts that I make a good profit on but all of my clients are residential and they pay me cash. I also cut two peoples lawns ( my moms and my neighbos) and dont charge them at all.

I do plan on going to my CPA, but here is my problems. I dont have any invoices because they pay me cash, how much should I show, and can I claim my mom and my neighbors cuts as donations.

I also would like to know how much of a lost I could have in my first year of buisness.

Before I started my buisness I was really orginized and said I was going to invoice everything, but once I got started my clients would just come out with the cash and give it to me and they all said that they didnt need an invoice.

I did spent about 10,000 dollars to get off and started and this year I made my money back.

2. newz7151

newz7151 LawnSite Silver Member
    from Tejas

The first thing to do would be to not post incriminating evidence like this on a public forum.

Next, try and go back and make invoices on all the cuts you did. When people tell me "oh, I don't need a receipt" , I tell them "You don't.. but I DO" .

3. ATVracer

ATVracer LawnSite Senior Member
    from Indiana

So you spent 10 grand on equipment, took the time to make it an LLC, but didn't bother to spend a few hundred dollars to get insurance? Wow.

4. RD592

RD592 LawnSite Member

Yes I did and I saved about 1300 bucks this year because of this. I may get some next year

5. grass_cuttin_fool

grass_cuttin_fool LawnSite Gold Member