1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Teen Mower

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by TandM, Mar 11, 2008.

1. TandM

TandM LawnSite Senior Member
    from south

Hey guys I just need to ask a couple of questions. I am 15 and get my liscense in a year. I have just bought a truck and it is getting painted and the trailer to match. I bought the truck for 1500 dollars and it has to look good. I need to know if I can legally put signs on my trailer for advertising. I have a really good rep. int these parts of Ga. Most of the yards are between 1 and 5 million dollars. what do I need to get to be a little legal. I have been mowing for 4 years and have 10 clients a tiger cub and shini handhelds.
  2. mowerbrad

mowerbrad LawnSite Fanatic

I've gone through just what you are going through as I'm only 17 and have been mowing since I was 10. Here in michigan there are no laws against having signs on your trucks and trailers and I'm sure that is the same throughout the country. I spent $75 on two magnetic signs to put on my truck and will get signs up on my trailer this year. For you to be legal make sure that you have liability insurance (million dollar policy usually works fine) and pay your taxes on what you make and everything. Good luck with everything.
  3. lifetree

lifetree LawnSite Fanatic

Sounds like you're doing just fine to me ... 10 clients with homes in the $ 1-5 M range !!
  4. chuck bow

chuck bow LawnSite Senior Member