Tell Me If I'm Insane !!!

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment & Pavement' started by Silver Landscaping, Nov 11, 2008.

1. Silver Landscaping

Silver Landscaping LawnSite Member

I'll be returning from Iraq soon and would like to get started in the excavating business for myself. I have a lot of experience working for someone else but have always wanted to take my own show on the road. Am I crazy to think that I can get started with a dump truck, trailer,and a backhoe of my own and rent the equipment that I don't have.
    I realize I will probably start out doing septic tank installations, agricultural, residential, pond cleaning ect. Pretty small stuff. Do you guys think that renting a lot of equipment to do these types of jobs looks unprofessional? Do you guys think that It is possible to operate in this manner until I can afford to start buying more equipment of my own and still keep the customers happy and not look like a complete jackleg doing it?
  2. GradeMan

GradeMan LawnSite Member
    from canada

i find that more and more people are rent gear to complete jobs, Even one man shows, an easy way to get started
  3. P.Services

P.Services LawnSite Fanatic

yeah your insane!!!!....... to think that it looks unprofessional to rent equipment!!! theirs nothing at all wrong with bringing a brand new dependable machine on site to get a job done the fastest. you might not make as much as the guy that owns his iron but you also will save money in the end because you wont have the repairs and downtime like he has.

get yourself a good tandem axle dump and a 20 ton tag trailer and a newer low hour backhoe and you will be set.
  4. larryinalabama

larryinalabama LawnSite Fanatic

Around here there is several solo dump truck towing backhoe operators.
    Really with something like a Ford 555 theres no need to rent anythother equiptment, you will find more than enough to keep busy with just the back hoe.
  5. tamadrummer

tamadrummer LawnSite Bronze Member