tempo progressive 521

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by Scott's, Jan 28, 2006.

1. Scott's

Scott's LawnSite Member

I am new to using a valve locator, I made my own test site by running wire on top of the ground and wiring in some valves along the path. When I insert my grounding stake and place the hot wire over the wire to be traced I keep getting a tone over the wire instead of a null. I might be reading the directions wrong, but according to the directions I should get a null. When I get on top of the valve the receiver goes crazy which I think it is supposed to. Can anyone please give me some pointers on this thing. I am a new Irrigator (very new) and could use a little help with this. I have called the company (tempo) and all I get is another name and and number to call and I've yet to find anyone to help me. As far as getting a good ground I have even wet the ground with water to try and make a good ground. Should I get a tone or null over the wire, I am sure it is a operator error. Thanks Scotty.

2. PurpHaze

PurpHaze LawnSite Fanatic

I did the same thing of using above ground wires for learning and it didn't work very well. I then changed to a section of main line with known wiring and used that as my testing grounds. I found an area that had 3-4 valves in a straight line and then disconnected the common wire at the two valves on the end of the run. Now I had a wire that was both burried and disconnected from the controller. It worked much better.

The locator will go "crazy" near a valve and this is one way of locating lost valves. I trace the common wire's null path and mark it with paint dots. Then turn the sensitivity down and slowly go along the null path with the tip of the locator just above ground level until the locator goes crazy. If the valve is offset from the main line then you need to move the locator along the null path on the side of the main you suspect the valve might be located.