Texas GL - Who do you use???

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by DFW Area Landscaper, Mar 7, 2005.

1. DFW Area Landscaper

DFW Area Landscaper LawnSite Silver Member
    from DFW, TX

I am currently insured with the Hartford for general liablity. It is costing me an arm and a leg. They are telling me that landscapers in Texas, New York and California have to pay more than landscapers in other states because these states are very letigious.

My question is, for Texas LCO's, who do you buy your GL from and how much does it cost? Hartford is basing my premium on payroll...4.2%. I think it's ridiculous. There has got to be a more affordable option for us.

Thanks,
    DFW Area Landscaper

2. Longstar

Longstar LawnSite Member

My insurance is through The Hartford as well. It was somewhere around $900 for the year I believe. I am currently a solo operator so I don't have a payroll per se. I checked into Safeco and another company and I think they were up around $1200-$1300.

3. gl1200a

gl1200a LawnSite Senior Member

Wowee, I guess I shouldn't complain about paying $350.00 for $1,000,000 worth thourgh Allied. I did have a bid of $255.00, but got it too late. I'm a solo operator also.

4. kerdog

kerdog LawnSite Member

Hey DFW Landscaper---

Might try Hotchkiss Ins. Agency. They have an office in Dallas and Houston. The Dallas number is 800.899.3750. I believe they cater to the green industry, as they advertise in the state irrigation assoc. newsletter.
    Work comp., health, property, gen. liability, etc. Don't know what kind of rates they might have. Looks like they are an independent, so should have a couple of carriers to choose from.

Good Luck---

5. Mowingman

Mowingman LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Texas

I have American Mercury, Lloyds for liability and workmans comp. Rates are good and have stayed pretty stable for the last 5 years.

6. DFW Area Landscaper

from DFW, TX