1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Thank God! Great new Resi contract today!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Green Pastures, May 29, 2003.

1. Green Pastures

Green Pastures LawnSite Silver Member

I was asked to do a bid on a big residential property (3 acres, not all grass) in a very upscale neighborhood. Average price on homes is $700K. I currently do not have any homes in this neighborhood, but I've been passing out fliers there twice a year for 3 years now. I've got some one time clean up jobs, some mulch jobs, and a few "will you cut for me while I'm on vacation?", but no contracted annual maintenance contracts. Those are what I'm after.

I really had a hard time on the bid. I kept wanting to bid low to make sure I got the job, cuz there are 3 LCO's I've SEEN myself in that neighborhood, very competitive! Probably even more that I have not seen.

I decided to take my own advice, ;) and bid it for what it would take for me to really make good money on the job. I figured if I got the job I'd be happy and if I didn't get it I would nor be losing anything.

Well I bid at $472.00 per month for 12 consecutive months. This includes mow, edge, trim and blow every week (max 40 cuts here in Virginia), all fertilizing-6 apps, trim all shrubs as needed, weed control in grass and beds, aerate and over seed in fall, and leaf cleanup in the fall (HUGE job, lot's of trees)

I did not include lime, which it will need yearly if it's anything like all my other accounts. I also left off mulching. I did the mulch for them last spring and it was 50 yards! I got $3080.00 for that, you do the math!!!

This is a great price for me, but they will be getting PREMIUM lawn care.

I'm very happy. This is a big boost for my budget, almost $500 more in income every month, year round.