The Art of Estimating?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by SDNCLAWNCARE, Mar 20, 2007.

1. SDNCLAWNCARE

SDNCLAWNCARE LawnSite Member

This is my first year in the business Solo... This week is my "REAL" first week of getting calls and giving estimates. Well Estimating has to be an artform. This is byfar the hardest part of the business to learn. The whole time I'm adding up cost, insurance, fuel, labor, materials, etc. I'm thinking to myself, is this too much, too little, UGG! I have a different respect for you guys now!

Steve

2. 1MajorTom

1MajorTom Senior Moderator

Grass cutting gets a lot easier to estimate once you get thru one season, to the point where you can quickly eyeball it and know how long it will take you.
    Hedge trimming and cleanups for example are always a little harder, because you always got to think in the back of your head, "this is going to take longer than i actually estimate it to." So always pad these types of jobs so you don't short yourself in the end.

3. Young Lawn Boy

Young Lawn Boy LawnSite Member

ya you start to get the feel for it...iv been doing this for five year and still screw up on occasion...always give an estimate calculating anything you think will come into play and remember this is one of those things you get better at when you do it more

4. cward

cward LawnSite Member