The Ghetto POS i bought

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Mr. Mower, Apr 5, 2004.

1. Mr. Mower

Mr. Mower LawnSite Member

I haven't been in the business long and i'm more just looking to mow a few a my neighbors lawns so i'm no mechanic. And there was never a worse time for me to be one.

A while back i found a nice scag walk behind mower on the Internet. I looked good in the pictures, was a good price, and was what i wanted so i figured i'll go and check it out. I was a few hours from my house but that was ok. so i wound up buying it for 800 bucks.

I have a guy i know from a former job i had that said he will check it out for me make sure it will run well for me all summer.
    This is what he said!!

first thing was there were chainsaw spark plugs in it!!!

Next the air filter was the most clogged thing he as ever seen.

he had really crappy belts on it.

the center spindle and the discharge spindle looked like they had never seen grease.

The gas cap had no filter or something i was told it would get moisture in it.

wrong size blades were on it

that was just stupid crap.
    here is why it was so ghetto.

the choke was made out of a throttle control and they used a throttle cable for it!!!
    that is horrible.

he is the rest that it needed

new ignition coil

both deck belts

hydro filter

deck engagement ldler

trans and idler pulley.

wow i wanna kick myself in the a$$ for that one, but what are you gonna do, you live you learn. guess i'll find out what those parts are going to cost me tomorrow.

He told me it wasn't the worst deal in the world because it had a replacement motor on it. It had a 17 hp kawi on it that he said was worth about $2200 new. I don't know if that wasn't such a bad deal or he was trying to make me feel better.

next time i will be more careful but why would anyone do such halfass repairs?chainsaw spark plugs? WTF!!!

2. captken

captken LawnSite Bronze Member