The most bang for your buck

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by PalmettoGreen, Feb 7, 2007.

1. PalmettoGreen

PalmettoGreen LawnSite Member

I am a solo operator who is looking to make the transition to full time in 07'. I am needing some advice from you veterans out there. What have you done to show the most return for your money when tring to get new clients? Thanks

2. supercuts

supercuts LawnSite Silver Member

palmetto, ive been mowing for 16 years, but only the last 2 full time. i dont advertise, im refered by my customers all the time. just starting though you dont have that luxary. when i did advertise, i put flyers in mailboxs, ads in the paper, mailed letters to people listed in the phone book, none of them worked good. the most luck i had was i hand painted a piece of 1'x3' plywood and put "landscaping" and my phone number in front of my house. i had so many calls that after i took it down i had to put "no new customers" on my answering machine. i live on a main road though, if you dont maybe one of your customers does, or family or friend. if its a customer tell them you will do some free work if you can put it out. good luck, after 2 years full time im over 90 lawns and growing

3. PearceLawn

PearceLawn LawnSite Senior Member

10 years as a solo op and the best thing to do is door hangers. Lots of them. And after you get the initial base of customers do good,on time work and the rest will fall into your lap from the referrals you get from the initial set of customers you had.

Take pride in the way you look and act when doing your estimates for the first set of customers. Keep that attitude up while doing the actual work and others will see and help you grow your business.

Hope this helps.

4. Frosty03

Frosty03 LawnSite Member

Not sure I fully understand the question, but if you mean what does it take to keep customers from one year to the next? That's easy.

Do quality work.
    Be consistent.
    Show up when you are supposed to.