The New Lowballers

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by lawnspecialties, Mar 31, 2006.

1. lawnspecialties

lawnspecialties LawnSite Silver Member

Has anyone run into the latest in "lowballing"? An LCO has a few employees, usually Hispanics. Business is kinda "so-so" and they're getting a little worried they might lose some of their help to busier companies. So they start their own version of lowballing just to keep the mowers running.

I know of an outfit near here that does a lot of government stuff (schools, etc.). They have a seven acre residential (just mowing and trimming) account they charge only $75.00 a cut!

I do all my work myself. I'm a full-time firefighter so I don't have to pay any health insurance or anything like that. I couldn't (and wouldn't) touch a price like that in a million years.

2. Flex-Deck

Flex-Deck LawnSite Silver Member

If they are insured and legal as an operation they are not a lowballer - they just are business men that may make money at prices you can not do.

3. Flex-Deck

PS> I think that possible rather than call them low ballers, you may in the future call them low bidders. You do realize that the space shuttle takes off on every mission being built by the low bidder.

4. one man gang

one man gang LawnSite Fanatic
    from N. In.

Yep and there's never been any quality issues, has there?

5. Madstriper

Madstriper LawnSite Member

Ha!!!!!
    I finally get it, the lowballer thing. Quality, dependability, etc.
    Well, I actually already understood where everyone was coming from, complaining about lowballers. But that just brought it home for me!!!!!!
    Funny too...........

6. FinerCutslawnCare

FinerCutslawnCare LawnSite Bronze Member

That is insane, and people like that have no idea what they are doing in my opinion, but that is just me....

7. lowballer17

lowballer17 LawnSite Member

and proud of it.

Cut, Edge and Trim for one low price of $17.00 most lawns.

Wont touch anything over 12,000 sq feet.