They call em"Mans best friend"

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Mickhippy, Mar 2, 2003.

1. Mickhippy

Mickhippy LawnSite Platinum Member

I've been mowing for a few years now and never been really troubled by dog, that is until I saw a thread on this or another site. In the last 3 weeks I've been bitten once and attacked (everything but bitten)once. First on the ankle (I love my boots) by a absolutely mental border collie. Then I went to quote this job where the lady told me there was a dog and that she will be there to get me into the back yard. She opens the gate and calls the dog over. It makes a bee line straight for me growling, barking and jumping up showing all its teeth. All the while the ***** (the woman) is just standing there watching the bloody mutt go ape st#t. After what seemed like a life time (I saw my life flash before my eyes) she calls the dog off and puts it away. Then she comes back and just asks how much and "did it give me a scare":angry: I then go on to tell her that I am under no circumstances going to put up with that and that it will cost $30. I really should of walked away. She needed it done for a party of something. It was a great Saturday morning until that happened and I figured that I was there, I was already dirty from the dog and that I would feel really good taking the $$$$ off her. I was almost finished when she comes out, throws the money on a table and walks away with out saying a word. She didn't say sorry about the dog or ask if I was OK or anything.
    I wont be going back there for sure!

Have any of you lot had trouble like this with dogs. And the barking kind as well.

2. fatboy5803

fatboy5803 LawnSite Senior Member

I just recently cleaned a lawn, and the neighbors dog barked from start to almost finished, at first I tried to talk to it :rolleyes: What a wast of time. Then I just ignored it and it finally shut up for a few minutes, what a pain...

Lou

3. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic