Thinking about buying a bagging system

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by lasher66, Sep 5, 2002.

1. lasher66

lasher66 LawnSite Senior Member

Hi,
    I have a 52"Bunton ZTR that I was thinking about buying a bagging vac system for. I have been cutting for 4 years and managed to get buy without bagging. It just seems to me that when I drive by other LCO's that are out cutting with bagging systems on there mowers, the lawn looks picture perfect because there are no leaves or grass on the lawn. I been using doubles in the spring time but it just seems like so much work double and triple cutting and blowing clippings around to make a lawn look good. I know I will have to deal with hauling away clippings in the spring but I think that would be faster . Another plus about bagging would be the fall time. Just wanted to know if bagging is worth it or not ? Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Lasher

2. Doc Pete

Doc Pete LawnSite Gold Member

It sounds to me you may need to rethink your approach to how you mow. For me, I mow when the lawn needs it. If I have to mow every 3/4 days I do. I've found people don't seem to understand how much it is to bag their lawn, especially if you have to haul the grass away. Guy's that bag in NJ usually have a 40 yards dumpster at work and dump the collected grass each day in it. I don't bag so I'm only guessing, but I don't think most customers want to pay $60/70 per hour knowing part of what you do is just dump grass and drive it home. Again, I don't bag, so I don't how things are priced, but if you're not getting at least the same amount of money to "bugger lug" the grass around, I wouldn't bag.
    Last if you have to double and triple cut the lawn it's way too long, Yes???? And, if you have the type of customer that only wants the lawn done once a week, I don't think you're gonna be able to charge them a "good fee" just for disposing of "grass".
    Pete

3. lasher66

lasher66 LawnSite Senior Member